2023 Municipal By-Election

Due to a vacancy on Council, a by-election is being held for the office of Councillor on September 16, 2023.

The Chief Election Officer, Kelly Ridley and Deputy Chief Election Officers Amanda Graham and Tyson Koch, were appointed by Council on July 10, 2023 and are responsible for conducting the by-election.

Information listed below is specific to the Harrison Hot Springs local government by-election.  Notifications specific to the 2023 by-election will be posted in accordance with the Local Government Act as required.  Information will be posted in the local newspaper, public notice bulletin boards and the Village website for all required notifications. 

  • Nomination Period – August 1 at 9:00 am to August 11, 2023 4:00 pm
  • Nominations Close – Friday, August 11 at 4:00 pm
  • Declaration of Candidates - Friday, August 11 at 4:15 pm in Council Chambers (Village Office)
  • Deadline for Challenge of Nominations - Tuesday, August 15 at 4:00 pm
  • Deadline for Withdrawal of Candidates - Friday, August 18 at 4:00 pm
  • Declaration of By-Election by Voting – Monday, August 21 at 4:00 pm in Council Chambers (Village Office)
  • Advance Voting Day – Wednesday, September 6 from 8:00 am - 8:00 pm 
  • General Voting Day – Saturday, September 16 from 8:00 am - 8:00 pm 
  • Declaration of Official By-Election Results – Tuesday, September 19, 2023 at 9:00 am
  • Inaugural Council Meeting - Tuesday, October 3 at 7:00 pm

The Local Government Act is the authority for all references to the local general by-election and supersedes any statement made on the Village of Harrison Hot Springs' website.


Elector Qualifications

Voter Registration

For the purposes of all elections and other voting, the Village of Harrison Hot Springs offers voting day registration only; a person may register as an elector only at the time of voting.

Voting Opportunities

Mail Ballot Voting